Jason Gray to Release Acoustic Sessions EP

Posted On: 08.16.2017
“The Acoustic Sessions” to Include Covers and Original Songs
Gray’s Latest Single, “Learning,” at radio now

NASHVILLE, TN. (August 15) Following the positive reception of his acoustic video series this year, Centricity Music artist Jason Gray will release the project as a digital EP September 8.

The Acoustic Sessions EP consists of audio tracks from the acoustic performance videos Gray recorded this year, viewable on his Youtube page. The set list includes covers of La La Land’s Oscar-winning “City of Stars,” and Imagine Dragons’ “Believer,” plus Gray’s own “Thank You For Everything” and “I Will Rise Again,” which features an introduction of Prince’s iconic “Thieves In The Temple.”


All are acoustic renditions, with the accompaniment ranging from homemade percussion to a hammer dulcimer. Gray describes the inspiration behind this creative endeavor:

“For the better part of two years I’ve been on the road with my friend and music-making wonder Spencer Ford,” Gray says, mentioning one of his backup musicians on the project. “I’ve loved our stripped-down arrangements of my songs and have wanted to capture that on a project for a while.”

He goes on to discuss the unique musicality included in the recordings: “Bringing in some Prince for ‘Rise’ was a happy discovery that in my mind will forever be part of the song now. And Spencer’s hammer dulcimer playing on ‘Thank You’ is one of my favorite musical moments each performance night. I’m glad we got to capture these things for people who might not otherwise get out to a show.”

The acoustic EP’s release precedes Gray’s joining The Afters for the Live On Forever Tour, which begins mid-September. He’ll finish the year headlining his Christmas tour featuring guests Marc Martel and Hannah Kerr, the dates of which will be announced in September.

For more information on Jason’s projects and performances, visit his website and follow him on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.


About Jason Gray:

Award-winning Christian music artist Jason Gray is considered one of the most prolific writers in the industry. His latest album, Where The Light Gets In, was released in June 2016 and achieved Top-5 status on Billboard’s Top Christian Albums Chart. His 2014 album Love Will Have The Final Word gave Gray his first No. 1 AC radio hit, “With Every Act Of Love,” which also made the Top 10 on Billboard’s Christian Airplay Chart. Gray’s previous two projects, A Way To See In The Dark and Everything Sad Is Coming Untrue, delivered the talented singer/songwriter five Top Five singles in a row, with “Nothing Is Wasted” becoming his first No. 1 single at radio (Inspo). Gray has won two ASCAP Performance Awards, for “More Like Falling In Love” (2011) and “Good To Be Alive” (2012). He remains active on the touring circuit, having shared the stage with such major artists as Michael W. Smith, Steven Curtis Chapman, Third Day and TobyMac. Gray headlined his With Every Act Of Love Tour in 2014, along with his popular Christmas Stories Tour from 2012-2016. He will be releasing a digital EP of his popular Youtube acoustic series in September 2016, before joining The Afters for their fall Live On Forever tour and then headlining his Christmas Stories tour.

Media Contact: 
Kelsey Keny

[email protected]